Elected representatives lead cleanliness drive in Delhi

On the call given by the Aam Aadmi Party’s Delhi unit, elected MLAs led by ministers of the Delhi government and the Vidhan Sabha Speaker on Sunday initiated massive cleanliness drives in their respective constituencies across the national capital.
Among others Vidhan Sabha Speaker Mr Ram Niwas Goel, Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia, PWD Minister Satyendar Jain, Water & Tourism Minister Kapil Mishra and Environment Minister Imran Hussain, led garbage cleaning drives in their respective constituencies.
MLAs along with volunteers had started the cleanliness drives as early as 8 AM in the morning. The party thanks the residents of the national capital for supporting the cleanliness drive and participating in it.
The AAP is of the view that any part of Delhi cannot be allowed to remain dirty and it is shocking the civic agencies – the three Municipal Corporations have failed in their primary and obligatory duty of keeping the city clean.
Due to large-scale corruption and mismanagement, the three MCDs have financially and functionally collapsed. The corporations are even unable to explain how they have spent the planned and unplanned budgetary grants provided to them by the Delhi government.
It is condemnable that despite having received the entire budgetary amount before time and having been given the concession by the Delhi government of not seeking any repayment of the Rs 6,000 crore outstanding loan and even the interest amount from the MCDs for the current financial year, these corporations instead of paying their employees salaries have provoked them to go on strike.
The AAP challenges the BJP and its mayors to answer the following questions :
1)      Have the three MCDs NOT received the entire planned and non-planned budgetary amount from Delhi government before time during the current financial year ?
2)      How much and when did they receive the money from Delhi administration last year ?
3)      Can the MCDs deny that DDA owes them Rs 1555 crore ?
4)      Despite doubling its parking charges, where has that money gone ? Can the MCDs make public its parking collection ?
5)      Why has the property tax collection of MCDs declined ?
6)      Is it not a fact that Delhi High Court on 30 October 2014 had stated that the MCD had converted Swacch Bharat Abhiyan into a mere ritual ?
7)      Did the High Court not tell the MCD on 5 November 2014 that it is running a Dirty India campaign ?

“The Media: Manufacturing Consent?”

The Citizen Second Anniversary Celebration
From: The Citizen <thecitizen242@gmail.com> Sun, 31 Jan ’16 3:28p
To: plindia08@gmail.com
Show full Headers
Dear Friend,
We value your support for The Citizen and of course the constant encouragement.
We are turning 2, and have organised a fun packed two hours for you and all our friends.
So please do join us on February 6, 5.30 p.m. for tea and more, at Kamla Devi Block, India International Centre.

The agenda is as follows:
High Tea at 5:30 PM
Followed by a Lifetime Achievement Award presented to a veteran journalist.
The Citizen’s Young Talent of The Year award.
A panel discussion on “The Media: Manufacturing Consent?” moderated by our editor-in-chief, Seema Mustafa. The panelists are:
Achin Vanaik: Scholar, author and founding member of the Coalition for Nuclear Disarmament and Peace
Hartosh Singh Bal: Political Editor, Caravan Magazine
Sanjeev Srivastava, Senior journalist, formerly India editor of BBC
Dr. Waeil Awwad, India-based Syrian journalist

A short film produced by The Citizen to end the event.


·       NSD’s 18th Bharat Rang Mahotsav to be held in New Delhi from February 1 to February 21, 2016
·       More than 10 countries from around the world with almost all the states of India to come together to showcase their best theatre talent
·       ‘World Theatre Forum’ to be a part of BRM, where eminent theatre personalities from various countries will come together
·       Some of the finest names in the theatre world, including Nana Patekar, Mohan Agashe Pankaj Kapur, Anupam Kher, Paresh Rawal, Saurabh Shukla, among others to be a part of the festival
·      BRM to also travel to Jammu, Ahmedabad, Bhubaneswar and Thiruvananthapuram this year

Preparations are underway on a massive scale at the National School of Drama, as the institute is gearing up to host the 18thBharat Rang Mahotsav.

The best of plays from around the world will be a part of this international festival, which promises to be bigger and better than previous editions. To be organised from 1st to 21st February 2016, the 18th Bharat Rang Mahotsav will be held across leading venues in New Delhi.

The inauguration ceremony to kick off the 18th Bharat Rang Mahotsav will take place at Kamani Auditorium in New Delhi on Monday, 1st February 2016 in a grand way. Dr. Mahesh Sharma, Hon’ble Minister of State for Culture and Tourism (Independent Charge) & Minister of State for Civil Aviation, Govt. of India and eminent stage and film personality Mr. Nana Patekar have consented to be the Chief Guest and Guest of Honor at the inaugural ceremony. The ceremony will be followed by the performance of MACBETH in Manipuri, by Chorus Repertory Theatre, which is directed by renowned theatre personality Shri Ratan Thiyam.

Bharat Rang Mahotsav promises to be bigger and better than ever with theatre groups from over 10 countries including USA, Australia, Italy, Sri Lanka, Poland, Bangladesh, Spain, China, Pakistan, Austria. Some of the finest names in the theatre world from India and abroad are set to be a part of the festival. The biggest theatre groups from almost all the states of India will also travel to showcase their talent at the festival. In a bid to promote theatre in other parts of the country as well, Bharat Rang Mahotsav will also be held at Jammu (Jammu and Kashmir), Ahmedabad (Gujarat),Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala), andBhubaneswar (Odisha).

The performances will be held at Abhimanch and Open Air Theatre at the NSD Campus along with LTG Auditorium, Kamani Auditorium and Shri Ram Centre in New Delhi. Tickets will be available at NSD box office and at the websitehttp://eticket.nsd.gov.in/(Enquiry: 91-11-23382821, 23387916) in denominations of Rs. 50 and Rs. 100 at Open Air Theatre; and Rs. 50, Rs. 100, Rs. 200 and Rs. 300 at all other venues.


Popular posts from this blog