New Five members UN Security Council

18.10.2007 06:21:33 Libya, Burkina Faso and Vietnam, Costa Rica and Croatia have been elected non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council for 2008-2009, the UN General Assembly announced on wednessday.

( - Crotia and Costa Rica in third roound voting and West African Burkina Faso,Libya and Vietnam easily obtained a two-thirds majorityin first round voting on Tuesday, after being endorsed by regional groupings to stand unopposed for the five non-permanent seats available for African and Asian nations of United Nation Security Council.

The new non-permanent members will replace Congo, Ghana, Peru, Qatar and Slovakia in the UN Security Council, when the countries' mandates expire on December 31.

U.S. had labelled Libya as a pariah state after Gadhafi came to power in a 1969 coup and turned his country against the West. Gadhafi Libya was the target of U.S. airstrikes in 1986, in his bunkers and thereon subject to sanctions.

Vietnamese Prime Minister Nguyen Tan Dung said Vietnam “will give its utmost as a nonpermanent member of the UN Security Council (UNSC)” in an interview with the Vietnam News Agency.

“Becoming a member of the most important agency of the largest global organization is a great honor but also bears weighty responsibilities,” he said.

“Vietnam will strictly follow the UN Charter, UN guidelines and international laws as well as closely cooperate with other UNSC members in order to make timely and appropriate decisions that serve the legitimate benefits of UN member countries.”

Dung said Vietnam would support and contribute to efforts for peace, arms proliferation and the fight against terrorism.

“We are also completing preparations to effectively participate in UN peace-keeping missions,” Dung added.

Eastern European Group between Croatia and the Czech Republic, Crotia won the seat and for Latin American Group between Costa Rica and the Dominican Republic Costa rica gainss vote for non-permanent members of security council.

Burkina Faso, also known by its seldom-used short form name Burkina is a landlocked nation in West Africa. It is surrounded by six countries: Mali to the north, Niger to the east, Benin to the south east, Togo and Ghana to the south, and Côte d'Ivoire to the south west. Formerly called the Republic of Upper Volta, it was renamed on August 4, 1984, by President Thomas Sankara to mean "the land of upright people" in Moré and Dioula, the major native languages of the country. Literally, "Burkina" may be translated, "men of integrity," from the Moré language, and "Faso" means "father's house" in Dioula. Independence from France came in 1960.

Press Information:
Enkaysagar Holdings Pvt Ltd


Contact Person:
Mr Nksagar
Phone: 9810974027
eMail: eMail



Popular posts from this blog

Immediate Pension Plan !!!