Biren Singh elected leader of BJP Assam

Manipur, BJP Legislature Party has unanimously elected N Biren Singh as it leader and He was elected at a legislature party meeting in Imphal yesterday in the presence of central observers – Piyush Goyal and Vinay Sahasrabuddhe. After the meeting, Mr Goyal told reporters that N Biren Singh will be the BJP’s chief ministerial candidate. A former minister in the Ibobi Singh-led Congress government, Biren Singh thanked Prime Minister Narendra Modi and the BJP leadership for giving him an opportunity to serve Manipur. He said, his team under the leadership of the Prime Minister will provide good governance to the state.
Meanwhile, outgoing Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh resigned yesterday after Governor Najma Heptullah said she cannot start the process of government formation in the state till he quits. Ibobi Singh submitted his resignation papers to the Governor yesterday. Ibobi Singh was elected as leader of the Congress Legislature Party on Sunday and has staked claim to form the next government.
Both BJP and Congress have staked claim to form the government in the state. Senior BJP leader and Assam minister Himanta Biswa Sarma has said that the party has secured the support of 32 MLAs in the 60-member Assembly. 31 MLAs are needed to form a government in the state. Mr Sarma said, BJP has 21 MLAs and secured support of 11 others adding up to 32 legislators.
Mr Sarma said, Shyamkumar, one of the 28 Congress MLAs, and the lone Trinamool Congress legislator Robindro have joined hands with BJP taking the party’s numbers to 32. Asked about application of the anti-defection law against Shyamkumar, Mr Sarma said they have kept that in mind.

UK parliament gives final approval for Brexit

UK, the House of Lords has passed the Brexit bill, paving the way for the government to trigger Article 50 so the UK can leave the EU. Peers backed down over the issues of EU residency rights and a meaningful vote on the final Brexit deal after their objections were overturned by MPs. The bill is expected to receive Royal Assent and become law today.
The Prime Minister could theoretically invoke Article 50, which formally starts the Brexit process, as early as Tuesday. The EU Withdrawal Bill was passed unamended after peers voted by 274 votes to 118 not to challenge the Commons again over the issue of whether Parliament should have a veto on the terms of exit.
Earlier, the government had comfortably won votes on the issues in the Commons, with only a handful of Tory MPs rebelling. Brexit campaigners welcomed the clear mandate given to the UK government ahead of the start of official negotiations.

Supreme Court refuses to stay Manohar Parrikar’s oath

Supreme Court has refused to stay the swearing in of Manohar Parrikar as Goa Chief Minister today as the court ordered floor test on Thursday and not after 15 days as ordered by the Goa Governor Mridula Sinha.
The Apex Court directed that all pre-requisites for holding floor test be completed tomorrow including the formalities required by Election Commission. The Apex court requested the Governor to summon the House tomorrow at 11 AM and directed that only business of the House will be the holding of floor test after swearing in of the members.
Supreme Court disposed the Congress Party’s petition, saying all issues raised in it can be resolved by simple direction of holding floor test. The court took on record the Goa Governor’s letter showing support of 3 members of MGP, 3 of GFP and 2 independents to the BJP taking its strength to 21 in House of 40. The Apex court said Congress failed to come out with affidavits of MGP and Goa Forward Party MLAs indicating support to it.
Abhishek Manu Singhvi who was the petitioner, said after the Order that the Supreme Court has intervened in a significant manner. Talking to reporters outside the Apex Court, he said the Governor had given 15 days, and the court has preponed it significantly for logistical reasons. He said Mr. Parrikar now has 48 hours to prove majority in the house, so it’s for BJP to decide if he wants to be Chief Minister for two days.
The BJP has won 13 seats and the Congress has 17 in the house. Goa Forward won 3, MGP won 3 and three were independents. NCP has one seat. The Congress claims it has the numbers.
Congress, NCP and RJD today staged a walkout in the Lok Sabha over the Lok Sabha Speakers’ denial of permission to raise the issue of Manipur and Goa where BJP has been invited to form the government in those two states. As soon as the House met for the day, Congress leader Mallikarjun Kharge wanted the Adjournment of Question Hour to discuss the issue.
The Speaker Sumitra Mahajan did not heed to the plea of Congress to adjourn the House. Saying this is highly undemocratic and illegal on the part of the Speaker to not allow to raise the issues, the parties walked out of the House.


Popular posts from this blog